Sunshine and Mountain Tops

There’s something about Colorado that just makes me feel so peaceful. I may have been born an East Coast girl, but the wild wild west pulls at my heart. I knew it when my family visited Arizona, that I was meant to head in this direction. I remember telling my mother I wanted to live there. I knew it as I overlooked the vast plains of South Dakota, and took deep breaths of big, big sky. Mostly though, I was certain the very first time I laid eyes on the Rocky Mountains: this was a place I was meant to call home.

No matter what stresses my day has brought me, when I step out of the office and catch a glimpse of the snow capped peaks in the distance my heart just lifts. I can be having the crummiest of days, but when I drive down the highway with the red rocks gleaming in the sunlight on either side of me, I instantly am overcome with a sense of awe and relief. The fact that the sun is always shining, I love my job, I have a fantastic nanny gig after school and that things have been really awesome lately also helps this overall sense of fulfillment and peace, I’m sure. But there is something about it out here that makes me really, genuinely content.
I have yet to look at the landscape here and fail to think to myself “God, this is so beautiful.” I think my friends are getting weary of hearing me say: Wow! We live in such a pretty place.

I’m excited to think about planning the rest of my life. For the first time in a long time, I’m not facing the future with a vague sense of dread or distrust. I’m eager to know what happens next, and I’m so happy about the paths I’ve chosen lately and the way life is twisting itself into the most beautiful of fairy tales.
I’m not a crazy person. I know that sometimes things will still be crummy and I don’t expect every day to be rainbows and roses. I’m aware that I still have no real plan and no future career prospects right now, but for the first time in a very long time I am not afraid of what the future may hold. And that feels very, very nice.

Leave a Reply

