After Americorps

Wow, its been a long while since I managed to log in and post something wonderful. Its my new goal to be better about that. So many things have happened since I last posted, including the summation of my AmeriCorps experience.

The end of my AmeriCorps term was bitter sweet. I was ready to move on to new things, but the future is just as scary now as it was when I turned to AmeriCorps as a reprieve from life over a year ago. The difference is that now I feel like I have accomplished something. I feel like I have made a difference, I know that I have had an impact on the lives of others. More interestingly is the impact that the word AmeriCorps has on my resume. Every time I tell someone that I served, they respond with “Oh really? Wow! I knew someone who did that once! That takes super dedication!” People are impressed with me! This is awesome! Not only do I get warm fuzzy feelings when I think about how AmeriCorps changed my life, I get actual recognition for a job well done everywhere I go.

I love that I spent time serving others. I love how it makes me feel good about myself. More so, I love that I have that personal story, that little bit of experience in goodness, to carry with me wherever life takes me next.

americorps alumni

Leave a Reply

