SO WHY IS A NAME SO IMPORTANT?

I think perspective is crucial to dealing with this. Having the right attitude, choosing to find positives, seeking joy. This helps….

Alzheimer's Speaks Blog

SO WHY IS A NAME SO IMPORTANT ANYWAYS?

When people ask me the question “Does your Mother know who you are?” what they are really asking, is does my Mother recognize it is me, Lori, her daughter.  Some are asking to get an update on how she is doing, others to give me permission not to have to go see her.  No matter what their reason, my answer has never varied.   I always say, “When did a name become so important to us?”

Second, I tell people, “I don’t test that theory anymore.  Why would I?  I have a 50/50 chance at best my Mother will get my name right.  Why would I take a chance of her being wrong and wrecking her day and mine?  What is important to me is that my Mother feels safe and comfortable with me, and on a very good day, we can laugh…

View original post 543 more words

Leave a Reply

